Day 29: Crocheting

A quick additional post for day 29: I just read about a project I believe we should all be interested in and do our best to support: The Institute for Figuring is crocheting a coral reef.

“The Institute For Figuring is crocheting a coral reef: a woolly celebration of the intersection of higher geometry and feminine handicraft, and a testimony to the disappearing wonders of the marine world. ”

For more information on how you can participate, please visit: www.theiff.org

6 Comments

  1. That sounds pretty cool. I don’t know whether you do crocheting or knitting, but both are from a completely different paradigm. So many things can go wrong with knitting, but a crochet needle is truly something like the universal shape generator.

  2. I am pleased to announce that, due to the fact that I got kicked out of shop class in elementary school and then again in grades 5 and six for being too much of a jackass, I was taught to do it all. Had to take “Handarbeit” instead. I was also forced to get my “Naehmaschinenfuehrerschein.” Ha, Ha! Oh, what a good, long German word, by the way. I must say that I do not really remember how to know knit, but I crochet like a motherf*$%”#.

  3. But the undoubtedly best long German word is Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz.

  4. Yep, nice long word with very small consequences. =)

  5. Look at this: both our blogs have been added to the theory + blog site on del.icio.us

    http://del.icio.us/tag/theory%2Bblog?page=2

    (If you read this page later, you might want to select the ‘earlier’ tab)

  6. Cool–I love to see the rhizome grow. “Look,” Zizek would say to me, “he is narcissistically amused.” Have you seen _Zizek!_, the movie, by the way?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

