Day 248: Blackle

Today, a recycled, or a parasite post, if you will. I have to do a lot of work and additionally actually send out the first three applications. Still, it doesn’t feel like the actual serious stage has begun yet and these applications applications feel more like trial runs (since they are for visiting assistant prof. positions, which I would only be willing to consider, if I got nothing else). But I am sure this attitude will change quickly, once I actually find myself walking to the post office with an application for a job at a very intimidating program in my hand (which will happen for the first time on Friday). Oh: I got really fancy paper and envelopes for CV, cover letter, diss. precis and teaching philosophy (the writing sample will still be on regular paper)–that stuff is expensive! If you are going on the academic job market next year, here one practical suggestion: put aside a serious chunk of money! Adding together postage (I am sending priority with delivery confirmation), stationary, toner cartriges, online dossier services, alcohol and pain killers, the academic job market can become a pricy undertaking quite quickly. It may not be exaggerated to calculate about $10-15 min. for each school you will be applying to–and there will (hopefully) be a bunch (especially, if you are also considering post-docs, etc.)–and this is a calculation excluding pill-popping and beer you can cry into at night.

As for today’s post: it is something I saw on the site of fellow SCTer Nirmal, who is fighting the good fight over in Boston. Suggestion: a black version of Google would save 750 megawatt-hours a year. You can find a detailed explanation of this here. You can find a black model of Google (called “Blackle”) here.

I’ve been using black or at least really dark templates for my mail accounts for a while now (as well as for the customizable my.yahoo pages, online blackboard sites for my courses, etc.), but I mainly did it for aesthetic reasons–it seems less harsh in the morning and gently eases me into a day of work that initially appears less scary this way. Good to know that this also has an environmental purpose.

3 Comments

  1. […] theToyGuy wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptSuggestion: a black version of Google would save 750 megawatt-hours a year. You can find a detailed explanation of this here. You can find a black model of Google (called “Blackle”) here. I’ve been using black, or at least really dark … […]

  2. Do they still accept applications on paper in the US?

  3. Well, it’s a mix between paper and digital applications. Many schools want actually have a paper cover letter and CV in their hands and most schools want you to send in a printed version of the writing sample (probably in part because this means that they don’t have to print thousands of pages themselves).


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

